Drake Talks About Stress, Sipping Codeine & Smoking Weed

In a recent interview, Drake talked about how he felt fortunate that he can be honest about himself in his music and acknowledged the stress and exhaustion that are part and parcel of the fame that he’s obtained before saying that he’s experimented with drugs to help keep the pressure he’s under in check. The rapper was quick to clarify that he maintains a positive outlook even though past interviews and his lyrics have made him appear somber and, at points, even bitter.

Drake explained that the degree of success he’s obtained has put him under a lot of pressure, but added that in spite of his melancholic lyrics he is always in control, although other artists in his position have succumbed to depression. “I say: ‘Never thoughts of suicide, I’m too alive.’ Yeah, I know, because you get artists in this position who go crazy and don’t know how to handle it. There are people who have killed themselves. There’s the overwhelming stress, how tired you are, the weight on your shoulders of going out here and giving 18,000 people entertainment… It’s a lot of pressure,” Drake told The Guardian.

The rapper acknowledged that he’s used drugs in the past to cope with the stress of his career, but says he tries to keep everything in moderation and he wouldn’t sacrifice his career to a serious drug habit. “Have I sipped codeine before? Yeah, of course. Have I smoked weed? Yes. Do I drink wine? Yes. But do I do it excessively? No. I’m not a reckless guy. I do it all within moderation. I’m not into drugs.  I mean any outside the ones I just mentioned. Nah, that’s not me. I care too much about what I have. I’m not going to throw it away for that,” said Drake.

Drake added that he’s lucky that he doesn’t have to do anything more than be himself and said that he felt fortunate to find himself in a position as an artist were he could simply be honest about who he is. “I don’t really have a gimmick or a ‘thing’. I’m one of the few artists who gets to be himself every day. It doesn’t take me six hours to get ready, and I don’t have to wake up in the morning and remember to act like this or talk like that. I just have to be me. And people really like that,” said Drake.

The rapper spoke about interviews that he’s done in the past which have painted him as more bitter than he actually is including a Vibe article that ran in February. “I didn’t like the way I was treated. They ran this story about how I’m the most bitter guy, and my life is in turmoil. And I’m, like, a very happy 25-year-old kid living an amazing life. They tried to put a damper on my character, I guess because I didn’t play according to their rules,” said Drake.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

