Tyson Chandler Nude

Tyson Chandler stripped off more than his New York Knicks jersey to bare his artistic side.

The 7-foot-1, 240-pound superstar center is one of 27 world-class athletes posing nude for ESPN The Magazine’s fourth annual “Body Issue,” due out Wednesday. Others letting it all hang out include New York Ranger Brad Richards, Bronx fencer Tim Morehouse, the WNBA’s Candace Parker, tennis player Daniela Hantuchova and track star Carmelita Jeter.

Chandler, 29, said baring it all for the camera — with one well-placed basketball — was a “different experience.”

“It was definitely something I haven’t done before,” Chandler told the Daily News.

The father of two laughed when thinking of what his teammates might say when the issue hits stands. “I don’t even know if any of them know that I did it, but I’m sure I’ll get teased when it comes out,” he said.

The modest hoops player said his wife, Kimberly, didn’t like the idea of sharing him with hordes of other women. But after some discussion, the artistry involved appealed to Chandler, an avid painter and photographer.

“I have the ability to do some extraordinary things in the court. I’m not one of those stand-in-the-mirror type of people,” he said. “I love different aspects of art, and I can appreciate when a photo can be done correctly.”

Chandler, currently training for the Summer Olympics, keeps his body chiseled by lifting weights, running track and bicycling. As a boy who grew up on a California farm, Chandler said he never imagined he would land on the cover of a major magazine. “Sometimes I laugh at myself and the places that I go,” he reflected. “I would never have dreamed that I would be doing some of the things that I do.”

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

